Lan I/O and Homeseer zone problem

Software related support

Moderator: marcus

Lan I/O and Homeseer zone problem

Postby musca » Sat 19. Feb 2011, 00:19

Hello,
I have a Lan I/O with 4 external IR outputs. I have managed to install it without no problem and is working fine. Using GUIclient I can control every external zone (from 1 to 4) separately without any problem (select form the Led Select drop down list All/Default/External/1/2/3 or 4 and all are working as they should).
I have installed the Homeseer plugin and I have configured it accordingly (Hostname localhost, Use Zones: checked, Ir learning bus: Bus0). I can define devices/learn/send commands and is working ok until I try to use zones. Lets say I have a device ARTEL on the IR Output 1 (exit the Homeseer, test the device using GUIClient - select Led 1 - , works ok, exit GUIClient, start Homeseer again). In the Zone Name or Device Name table the Output Zone is set between 1-120 (always get the same results but let's say is 120). Press Send and the device is working (note: the device is in another room so there is no way that the Lan's I/O internal led is sending the signal). I get the following log in Homeseer:

2/19/2011 1:57:21 AM - IRTrans Debug - SetZone(120) called
2/19/2011 1:57:21 AM - IRTrans Debug - PlayIR() called on location: 3
2/19/2011 1:57:21 AM - IRTrans Debug - zoneEnding=20
2/19/2011 1:57:21 AM - IRTrans Debug - Bus is 0, Address mask will be 00000000 00000000 00000000 00000001
2/19/2011 1:57:21 AM - IRTrans Debug - Command played successfully.
2/19/2011 1:57:21 AM - IRTrans Debug - KeyLearnable() called with location 0
2/19/2011 1:57:21 AM - IRTrans Debug - SupportsIR2() called, returning true
2/19/2011 1:57:21 AM - IRTrans Debug - KeyLearnable() called with location 1
2/19/2011 1:57:21 AM - IRTrans Debug - SupportsIR2() called, returning true
2/19/2011 1:57:21 AM - IRTrans Debug - KeyLearnable() called with location 2
2/19/2011 1:57:21 AM - IRTrans Debug - SupportsIR2() called, returning true
2/19/2011 1:57:21 AM - IRTrans Debug - KeyLearnable() called with location 3
2/19/2011 1:57:21 AM - IRTrans Debug - SupportsIR2() called, returning true
2/19/2011 1:57:21 AM - IRTrans Debug - KeyLearnable() called with location 4
2/19/2011 1:57:21 AM - IRTrans Debug - SupportsIR2() called, returning true

Now I have changed the zone to 121 and is still working (normally it should NOT work I think).
Zone 122 is NOT working (normally it should work I think) and I get:
2/19/2011 2:16:04 AM - IRTrans Debug - SetZone(122) called
2/19/2011 2:16:04 AM - IRTrans Debug - PlayIR() called on location: 3
2/19/2011 2:16:04 AM - IRTrans Debug - zoneEnding=22
2/19/2011 2:16:04 AM - IRTrans Debug - Bus is 0, Address mask will be 00000000 00000010 00000000 00000001
2/19/2011 2:16:04 AM - IRTrans Debug - Command played successfully.
2/19/2011 2:16:05 AM - IRTrans Debug - KeyLearnable() called with location 0
2/19/2011 2:16:05 AM - IRTrans Debug - SupportsIR2() called, returning true
2/19/2011 2:16:05 AM - IRTrans Debug - KeyLearnable() called with location 1
2/19/2011 2:16:05 AM - IRTrans Debug - SupportsIR2() called, returning true
2/19/2011 2:16:05 AM - IRTrans Debug - KeyLearnable() called with location 2
2/19/2011 2:16:05 AM - IRTrans Debug - SupportsIR2() called, returning true
2/19/2011 2:16:05 AM - IRTrans Debug - KeyLearnable() called with location 3
2/19/2011 2:16:05 AM - IRTrans Debug - SupportsIR2() called, returning true
2/19/2011 2:16:05 AM - IRTrans Debug - KeyLearnable() called with location 4
2/19/2011 2:16:05 AM - IRTrans Debug - SupportsIR2() called, returning true

Zone 123 and 130 are working (I can move the IR Output jack from 1/3 to 2/4 and is working with both).
Zone 131 not working and I get:
2/19/2011 2:07:21 AM - IRTrans Debug - SetZone(131) called
2/19/2011 2:07:21 AM - IRTrans Debug - PlayIR() called on location: 3
2/19/2011 2:07:21 AM - IRTrans Debug - zoneEnding=31
2/19/2011 2:07:21 AM - IRTrans Debug - Bus is 0, Address mask will be 10000000 00000010 00000000 00000001
2/19/2011 2:07:21 AM - IRTrans Debug - Error playing command 3: IR Error: Selected IR Output does not exist
2/19/2011 2:07:21 AM - IRTrans Debug - KeyLearnable() called with location 0
2/19/2011 2:07:21 AM - IRTrans Debug - SupportsIR2() called, returning true
2/19/2011 2:07:21 AM - IRTrans Debug - KeyLearnable() called with location 1
2/19/2011 2:07:21 AM - IRTrans Debug - SupportsIR2() called, returning true
2/19/2011 2:07:21 AM - IRTrans Debug - KeyLearnable() called with location 2
2/19/2011 2:07:21 AM - IRTrans Debug - SupportsIR2() called, returning true
2/19/2011 2:07:21 AM - IRTrans Debug - KeyLearnable() called with location 3
2/19/2011 2:07:21 AM - IRTrans Debug - SupportsIR2() called, returning true
2/19/2011 2:07:21 AM - IRTrans Debug - KeyLearnable() called with location 4
2/19/2011 2:07:21 AM - IRTrans Debug - SupportsIR2() called, returning true

In conclusion I cannot control interdependently the external zones using Homeseer (as I said earlier the zones can be controlled fine using the GUIClient ).
I am using a registered version of Homeseer (Standard Edition 2.5.0.1) and the Irtrans plugin (1.2.15.0) downloaded using Homeseer updater

Thanks for helping me,
musca
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri 18. Feb 2011, 23:39

Re: Lan I/O and Homeseer zone problem

Postby IRTrans » Sat 19. Feb 2011, 08:58

Hi,
it looks like this is a problem with the Homeseer plugin. Maybe it does not support more than 2 IR Outputs.

Could you please start the irserver with the additional option "-loglevel 4". Then we can see how HS tries to address the device.

If it is a problem of the HS plugin there is nothing we can do about it as we did not write it.

IRTrans
IRTrans
Administrator
 
Posts: 2115
Joined: Mon 21. Apr 2008, 23:32

Re: Lan I/O and Homeseer zone problem

Postby musca » Sat 19. Feb 2011, 14:16

Done. Now where do I see how the HS address the device ?
musca
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri 18. Feb 2011, 23:39

Re: Lan I/O and Homeseer zone problem

Postby musca » Sat 19. Feb 2011, 15:09

Found something in a window called Diagnostics. When I send a command via HS2 (zone 122) I get the following in the Diagnostics window:
Netcommand Size: 112/112
Netcommand: 1 [0]
Send [0] hs2_signals - 1 [30001 - B:0 M:0x1 LED: Internal]
Time ACK End : 0.700000 ms
Send Status 8 - 8 [0]

I have tested the following zones:
zone 120: and I got in the Diagnostics window the following:
Send [0] hs2_signals - 1 [30001 - B:0 M:0x1 LED: Default]

121: LED: External (In your "IRTrans Installation and Configuration Guide (PDF)" HS2 zone 121 was suppose to be Internal LED only. Anyway this command is working correctly - only the external led are sending commands.)
122: LED: Internal (again, in the guide this is marked as External)
123: LED: All (this is working OK)
124-130: LED: Default (this is working OK)

Now the surprise:
131: Led: 9
132 - 138: Led 10-16

I have also tested :
139 - 198: Led: Default (all are working fine)
This is strange. Maybe the Led 1-8 are is some other zones ?
Regards,
Andrei
musca
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri 18. Feb 2011, 23:39

Re: Lan I/O and Homeseer zone problem

Postby IRTrans » Sat 19. Feb 2011, 15:44

Hi,
I suppose that is an error in the HS plugin.

No idea how the zones are addressed in the HS plugin.

The "IRTrans Installation and Configuration Guide (PDF)" only applies to the old HS plugin (for HS 1.6).

I am sorry but we cannot fix this as we did not write the plugin. You will need to contact the developer of the HS plugin for a fix.

IRTrans
IRTrans
Administrator
 
Posts: 2115
Joined: Mon 21. Apr 2008, 23:32

Re: Lan I/O and Homeseer zone problem

Postby musca » Sun 20. Feb 2011, 22:14

Should I understand form your answer that you never tested this plugin with multiple zones?
Do you have an email address of the person who made the plugin? I think Brian is his name, but I cant find his address.
Thanks for help,
Musca
musca
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri 18. Feb 2011, 23:39

Re: Lan I/O and Homeseer zone problem

Postby IRTrans » Sun 20. Feb 2011, 22:37

Hi,
we are not using Homeseer at all.

Due to the Cable Length limitation almost all people using HS are using one IRTrans device per room for multiple zones.
We do know that this setup works.

You might try to contact Brian through the Homeseer forum.

IRTrans
IRTrans
Administrator
 
Posts: 2115
Joined: Mon 21. Apr 2008, 23:32

Re: Lan I/O and Homeseer zone problem

Postby musca » Mon 21. Feb 2011, 22:28

Hi,
Yes, Marcus informed me about length limitation but I was not convinced at all. This is why I have asked him to have a LAN I/O for testing and now, after one week of daily tests I have to say: YOU HAVE AN INCREDIBLE GOOD PRODUCT.
You should advertise it better.
During my testing I NEVER experienced ANY cable length limitations. Here is the setup I tested in the last 3 days (about 100 commands sent every day for each one of the 4 IR Output):

Interface: Lan I/O

Software: IRTRans server and GUIClient

Remotes used to learn IR signals: Daikin (very difficult code, never manage to learn it with any other hardware but with LAN I/O I have learned about 10 IR signals all of them from the very first try), Artel (standard IR signals), Onkyo (difficult one, only some hardware were able to learn it with a lot of errors, no problems for LAN I/O), Panasonic Projector(standard commands) and some other remotes with standard IR signals.

IR Output 1 :
one 15m cable (fifteen meters) that splits at the end in 3 IR eyes (length of each IR eye 1.5m); controls Panasonic Projector, Artel industrial air purifier and one no name Airco.
one 8m cable (eight metes) with one IR eye; controls Onkyo Receiver
one 12m cable that split at the end in 4 IR eyes (1.5m, 16m, 8m, 7m); controls one Thomson TV, one Samsung TV, one Daewoo TV and one Jacuzzi/Steam room.
one 40m cable (yes, four and zero meters); controls one Daikin airco unit
one 15m cable (fifteen meters); controls one Daikin airco unit with jumper removed (reacts to different codes than the unit mentioned above)

IR Output 2 :
one 32m cable; controls one Daikin airco unit
one 20m cable; controls one Samsung TV

IR Output 3 :
one 15m cable; controls one Daikin airco unit

IR Output 4 :
one 20m cable; controls one Daikin airco unit

Conclusions:
Never had any cable length problem. I have started the tests with shorter distances and increased until I reached the above mentioned setup. I stopped experimenting because this is already much more that I really need for my current project (if necessary I can easily reduce mt total cable length by 20%). I have no idea what is the maximum cable length possible. Your IR eye cable resistance is 0.98 ohms. The maximum cable resistance I measured on my longest cable is about 10.78 ohms.
This is my third day of testing and never had any issues.
The Ir eyes I used are pretty standard ones I paid $24 for 6 pieces. I haven't tested with the IR eyes you sent me.

I am very happy with you product. It might be exactly what we are looking for our projects. The only MAJOR problem is the HS plugin. For me, it is clear that there is only a minor addressing problem that can be easily corrected but I can't get in touch with Brian and I don't have the source code. I have tried to contact him last Friday via the Hs forum and PM but no answer until now. Maybe Marcus can contact him (I remember I read somewhere that they use to communicate together for development/improvement of IRTrans hardware) ?
Regards,
musca
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri 18. Feb 2011, 23:39

Re: Lan I/O and Homeseer zone problem

Postby IRTrans » Tue 22. Feb 2011, 08:08

Hi,
we also did not have any contact with him for one or two years, no idea if he is still around in the HS forum.

However, maybe we can change the SW on our side so that it works with the wrong addressing HS uses.

To do that we would need to see a log output from our server for every zone you can select in HS. That would allow us to remap the zones.

Regarding the cable length: We alredy had customers that had problems with cables with a length of 10m.

IRTrans
IRTrans
Administrator
 
Posts: 2115
Joined: Mon 21. Apr 2008, 23:32

Re: Lan I/O and Homeseer zone problem

Postby musca » Tue 22. Feb 2011, 11:01

Is there any other simple way to get the log output besides copy/paste from diagnosis window ?
And when you say every zone I can select in HS you literary mean all ? It starts from 1 and goes until 1699 . . .
Normally, since my Lan I/O has 4 zones, I would sent you the log for HS zones 131 to 134 ( commands are send to Irtrans led 9 to 12). Would this be enough ?
musca
 
Posts: 13
Joined: Fri 18. Feb 2011, 23:39

Next

Return to Software

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests